The Constitution of India.

India, commonly known as Bharat, is a Union of States. It is governed by a parliamentary system as a Sovereign Socialist Secular Democratic Republic. The Constitution of India, which was enacted by the Constituent Assembly on November 26, 1949 and came into force on January 26, 1950, governs the Republic. The Constitution establishes a Parliamentary system of government with a federal framework and certain unitary characteristics.

The President is the constitutional head of the Union's executive branch. According to Article 79 of the Indian Constitution, the Union's Parliament is made up of the President and two Houses: the Council of States (Rajya Sabha) and the House of the People (Lok Sabha). According to Article 74(1) of the Constitution, there shall be a Council of Ministers, led by the Prime Minister, to assist and advise the President, who shall carry out his or her duties in accordance with the advice. The true executive power is consequently delegated to the Council of Ministers, which is headed by the Prime Minister.

Constitution of India
Download PDF • 2.71MB

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All